Throughout my course i hope to achieve many things but I believe it’s important to set myself targets to ensure I’m progressing as a designer.

My thoughts on sustainability ………

Without considering sustainability I don’t believe i would have any future within the design industry.It’s clear to me that it’s not just my design outcomes that must encompass sustainability but also the design process and manufacture. I know some designers feel this is restricting to the design process but i feel totally the opposite, i feel it pushes me as a designer to look and experiment with new materials and processes.

I disagree with the theory that sustainable products suffer aesthetically,  the appearance of a product is a detail placed firmly in the designers hands from the beginning and there for should not suffer in order to become sustainable.
I believe that people’s view’s on sustainability have improved in recent years but there is still room for improvement.Designers can raise awareness of issues in creative and useful ways. I believe we as designers are powerful people who should fully take on our responsibility to create for a sustainable future.
This entry was published on May 1, 2011 at 8:50 pm and is filed under Projects. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

